Wednesday 3: Cool As Cucumber Rituals

I live in Vermont. So anytime I have to indulge in the warm weather, I will, because summer here is short AF. And if you haven’t caught on yet from my previous posts, I am somewhat of a ritual fanatic. Uh, maybe less of a fanatic and more like totally useless if I don’t create a ritual for any task, friend or foe, that I need/want to undertake. Rituals make for traditions and traditions are sticky little things. They work for me and they can work for you too.

So, to make the most of the warm months I suggest taking part if one, if not all, of the following rituals; brought to you by the illustrious cucumber, they are both feel-good and mildly bougie.

Cuke Ritual #1

Every evening take a fresh, washed, unpeeled cucumber and cut  1/4 inch slices and put all but two slices into a liter of water and add four wedges of lemon for a bit o’ zest. Refrigerate overnight. First thing in the morning, before you get your caffeine fix on, pour a tall glass, or preferably a pretty wine glass, full of the cuke water and spend 5-10 minutes mindfully sipping until finished. It’s a great way to get your daily intake while setting your intentions for the day.

 

cucumber water
via foodnetwork.com

 

Continue to drink throughout the day.

Why cucumber water? 1. It’s refreshing. 2. It’s hydrating. 3. Plus, according to Healthline; it is freaking great for your skin and more. Nothing is more decadent than taking care of your body inside and out.

Oh and those two slices you put aside? Toss them in the fridge until the evening so you can place those babies on your tired peepers.

Cuke Ritual #2

Speaking of beautiful skin, the mask of the season has got to be Peter Thomas Roth Cucumber Gel Mask Extreme Detoxifying Hydrator. This is holy grail-level skin care, my friends. Users just rave about the texture of their skin.

 

peterthomasroth
via Sephora.com

 

I refrigerate mine and use it twice a week in the evenings. On Wednesdays, I use the mask as directed; leave to dry for 10 minutes and rinse off. Sunday is my mega home-spa day so I get super indulgent and use it as an overnight mask. Trust me when I say this alone makes my Monday mornings infinitely better.

It’s a little expensive. But I will say this time and time again, you’ve got only one bone bag; treat it with care!

Cuke Ritual #3

Did you know the cucumber scent is supposed to help you relax and reduce anxiety? I didn’t until I picked some essential oils to go with my newest purchase; this chic diffuser, and I started to learn the benefits of using them and it. My nights have become more chill since I’ve started this ritual. I usually read before turning in and with this scent wafting through my bedroom, I’m definitely less prone to hours of wakefulness worrying about everything under the sun.

giphy (8)
via giphy.com

 

Oh, and if you’re more of a candle person, I recommend this one in particular; it has subtle, but heavenly aroma.

Finally, you can put all of this rituals together to have one ultimate cool-as-a-cucumber pamper sesh. Sip on your water, while masking, and breathing in deeply. Surrender to these sultry days and nights. They’ll be a whole other set of rituals for the winter!

xx

Nicole Michelle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

